Skip to main content

Almshouse tours

Restored almshouse tours

Interior of our restored historic almshouse

Tours of our restored almshouse


What was it like to live here?

Explore two almshouse rooms restored to how they would have been in the 18th and 19th centuries.

You can discover how residents kept warm, where they slept, ate and did their washing.

Our knowledgeable volunteers lead the tours. Tours last about 20 minutes.

Upcoming dates and times for tours


October

From Thursday 3 - Sunday 27 October writer Michael McMillan's immersive monologue Waiting for Myself to Appear will be performed in the Geffrye Almshouse. Book tickets here.

November

  • Saturday 9 November, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm and 3pm
  • Tuesday 12 November, 12pm, 12.30pm, 2pm and 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 20 November, 12pm, 12.30pm, 2pm and 2.30pm
  • Saturday 23 November, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm and 3pm
  • Tuesday 26 November, 12pm, 12.30pm, 2pm and 2.30pm

December

  • Wednesday 4 December, 12pm, 12.30pm, 2pm and 2.30pm
  • Saturday 7 December, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm and 3pm
  • Tuesday 10 December, 12pm, 12.30pm, 2pm and 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 18 December, 12pm, 12.30pm, 2pm and 2.30pm

Costs

£5 for adults
Free for Friends of the Geffrye, visitors with disabilities (and companion/carer) and children under 16

Booking

Book tickets in advance or turn up on the day.

We allocate tickets on a first-come, first-served basis.

Groups

For groups of 8 or more please book in advance. You can book group tickets online, email us at bookings@geffrye-museum.org.uk or telephone 020 7739 9893.

Access

There is no step free access to the restored historic almshouse.

Coffee and cake offer

Enjoy a coffee and cake for £5 from our neighbours at the Hoxton Cabin. Just show your stamped ticket.